European Champions - Amiri & Toljan win U21 title

Germany U21s are European champions. The team which included Hoffenheim's Jeremy Toljan and Nadiem Amiri beat Spain 1-0 in the final. A sublime header from Mitchell Weiser, assisted by Toljan, was the only goal of the game and came in the 40th minute.

Spain started the match in Krakow well, and showed why many had them as the tournament favourites. However, the Germans eventually took control of the final,  as Arrizabalaga parried Weiser's shot in the sixth minute. Just 60 seconds later, Max Meyer's header cannoned off the outside of the post. Then captain Maximilian Arnold tried his luck from 30 yards but saw his effort just go wide of the right-hand post.

Germany created another chance in the 15th minute as Serge Gnabry hit a volley into the side netting. The Gnabry had two more chances in the 21st minute, but his first shot was blocked and his second, a weak effort, landed in the arms of the keeper. However, Spain's goalie had no chance in the 40th minute as Mitchell Weiser's header from Toljan's cross looped into the far corner of the net. This later proved to be the goal that won Germany the title.

Spain take the initiative

The highly praised Spaniard Marco Asensio of Champions League winners Real Madrid and Saul Niguez made little impact in the first half. Julian Pollersbeck in the German goal had a very quiet 45 minutes.

It was, however, a different game in the second half. The young Germans had to weather an early Spanish storm immediately after the break. But once again, Kuntz's men got withstood the pressure and again found their feet in the match, making use of ball possession and creating further chances to score.

In the final 15 minutes of the match, it was all hands to the pump for Germany as the Spanish moved the ball quickly as they pressed for an equaliser. Once again though, the Germans kept pace with a talented Spanish outfit and limited them to very few obvious goalscoring opportunities. TSG's Nadiem Amiri came on in the 81st minute and his fresh legs helped Germany get over the line against the energetic Spaniards.

This is Germany's second U21 European Championship title after they previously won it in 2009. Manuel Neuer and Mesut Özil were in that team. Current TSG striker Sandro Wagner scored two goals in the 2009 final. 

Download Now!
Print Page to top