TSG milestones honoured

On and off the pitch, there's always something happening at TSG. In our "Box-to-box" series, we bring you exciting and interesting stories from the men's first team, the U23s, the academy and the women's team.


TSG milestones honoured

Special achievements deserve recognition: director of football Alexander Rosen and managing director Frank Briel have honoured four players for reaching special landmarks. Kevin Akpoguma and Christoph Baumgartner have both reached a century of appearances for TSG in recent weeks, while Andrej Kramarić has now played more than 200 matches in a Hoffenheim shirt and Oliver Baumann has kept the TSG goal in over 300 games. Many congratulations, and many thanks for your commitment to the colours!


U23 game in Homburg postponed to 14 December

The U23s' away match against FC Homburg in the Regionalliga Südwest, which was originally supposed to take place the weekend after next (18-20 November), has been delayed until Wednesday 14 December at 19:00 CET. The reason for the rescheduling is the fact a Germany youth team has called up a player (under 21 years) who has played in at least 50% of the league matches contested by Hoffenheim's reserve team this season. The player in question is Fisnik Asllani, a forward in the TSG senior squad, who has made 10 appearances and scored eight goals for the U23s this term. Asllani has been called up to U20 national team coach Hannes Wolf's squad for the upcoming internationals against Czechia (16 November at 18:00 CET), Norway (19 November at 15:00 CET) and Portugal (22 November at 18:00 CET).

Tony Mamodaly elected to the DFL Internationalization Committee

Tony Mamodaly, Head of International Operations at TSG Hoffenheim, has been elected to the DFL Internationalization Committee. The DFL Internationalization Committee is one of eight official advisory committees for the German Football League (DFL). In general, it deals with the question of how the competitiveness of the Bundesliga in comparison with other national leagues can be strengthened. The committee develops strategies and concepts to increase the revenues from international marketing and the league's reputation in relevant target markets.

"Personally, I feel it is a great honour to be elected to a DFL committee," says Mamodaly. "At the same time, this is also a great endorsement for the club as a whole, as this election shows that, based on the issues we address and the way we go about doing so, we make a significant contribution to achieving the league's goals. I am looking forward to being able to drive forward the internationalization of the league and to represent the interests of TSG in a dignified manner."

The DFL Presidium appointed Samy Julien Hamama (Eintracht Frankfurt), Benjamin Hoeness (Bayern Munich), Evelyn Holderbach (RB Leipzig), Rouven Kasper (VfB Stuttgart), Benedikt Scholz (Borussia Dortmund), Holger Tromp (Bayer 04 Leverkusen) and Bernd von Gelden (FC St. Pauli) to the committee.

Alongside Tony Mamodaly, the following representatives were elected by the General Assembly: Torsten Wirwas (FC Schalke 04), Sebastian Zelichkowski (Hertha Berlin), Michael Meeske (VfL Wolfsburg) and Philip Haverman (Borussia Mönchengladbach).


Three Hoffenheim women's players receive Fritz Walter Medal

Three Hoffenheim players - Vanessa Diehm, Mara Alber and Mathilde Janzen - can look forward to receiving the Fritz Walter Medal, the highest individual award in German youth football. Bundesliga player Diehm was awarded the silver medal (U17 class of 2021, born in 2004) for her achievements, while U17 European champions Mara Alber and Mathilde Janzen took silver and bronze in their age groups (U17 class of 2022, born in 2005).

As part of its "Equal Play" reform, the DFB has decided to award the Fritz Walter Medal to youth players on an equal footing with immediate effect. This means that for this year's award and in the future, both the best male and female players of the U17 and U19 age groups will be awarded gold, silver and bronze medals. In addition, this principle will also be applied to last year's Fritz Walter Medal, which was cancelled due to the pandemic. As a result, 24 players can look forward to receiving the highest individual award in German youth football.

Kramarić called up for the World Cup

Andrej Kramarić has been included in Croatia's squad for the 2022 World Cup by national team coach Zlatko Dalić. It is the TSG forward's second World Cup, having previously helped his country reach the 2018 final (4-2 loss to France). Congratulations Andrej, stay healthy!

Download Now!
Print Page to top